Monday, 17 October 2016

Review No. 33: The Purgatorium - Eva Pohler

Genre: Horror / Young Adult / Mystery

Edition: Kindle

No. of Pages: 290

Published on: 13th December 2013

Published by: Green Press

Source: Amazon

Bookclub?: Readwithben on Instagram

Series: The Purgatorium Series #1

Get the book: Amazon

Description: Daphne Janus has been sent to an island for therapeutic purposes. She recently lost her sister in an accident, riddled with guilt and self blame she is shipped to a resort with her best friend. A best friend who might be up to more than she thought he was capable of. On this remote island, Daphne must figure out what's really happening, and who she can trust. With her life and her heart on the line.

What I think about it: I just made this novel sound so good with my description of it. It is! However, as my first foray into the world of mystery, I don't think this was the right kind of book for me. The suspense was thrilling, the story was overall enjoyable. Unfortunately, I hated the main character and the ending was a bit underwhelming. I did enjoy reading it, for the most part I was expecting a bit more horror and excitement. I felt a bit disappointed at the end and really wanted it to continue in another direction.

In conclusion: 3/5 stars. I don't like giving bad reviews, but this novel was just not up my alley. I'm not saying it's bad, because it wasn't! It was a good book and I'm thankful that I read it because it got me out of my reading slump. I think.

Friday, 13 November 2015

Review No. 32: Salt - Colin F. Barnes

Genre: Post Apocalyptic / Mystery / Thriller

Edition: ebook

No. of Pages: 346

Published on: May 15th, 2014

Published by: Anachron Press

Source: Netgalley

Series: The Last Flotilla Book 1

Get the Book: Amazon

Description: In a series of disastrous events the world has been almost completely covered by the ocean. A small flotilla of damaged ships has survived, there are only 125 people surviving on these ships. There is a bacteria that is causing the people to fall ill and as far as they know the only thing to help prevent getting infected is salt. Things are looking bleak for the flotilla residents when certain groups start fighting each other.On top of the chaos, a serial killer starts targeting the citizens. Eva Morgan races to investigate and discover the criminal among them, she seeks revenge for her friends' and closer for her young charge, Danny. Will she uncover the criminal in time? Or will she perish before she finds them?

What I think about it: This is the first thriller book I've ever read, I had no experience with this genre going into it and I must say I am intrigued. After having read this novel, I am eager to read more of this genre. The suspense and action was really heart-stopping, I seriously forgot to breathe at certain points in this novel.
                                       The characters were really well developed and widely ranged. The setting or worldbuilding , for lack of a better word, was also on point. I could totally imagine this little group of wrecked ships hanging on to the side of the mountain.
                                       The story was good, the characters well built and the setting amazing. However, the climax was a bit anticlimactic. Or maybe I was expecting a bit too much because I'd never read anything like this before. I don't know, but that's why I'm knocking off one star from the rating of this book. Otherwise, it was an amazingly gripping read.

In Conclusion: 4/5 stars. There was never a dull moment in this novel and I loved that.

Thursday, 22 October 2015

Review No. 31: Mad About the Hatter - Dakota Chase

Genre: Fantasy / YA / LGBTQ

Edition: ebook

No. of Pages: 190

Published On: August 20th, 2015

Published By: Harmony Ink Press

Source: Netgalley

Series: None

Get the book: Amazon

Description: Henry has never believed the stories his sister told about Wonderland. He always thought that something horrific had happened to her and her tales were her coping method. He refused to believe in the lies she told. Then, Henry finds himself in the middle of Wonderland with no way of escaping. He must find the Hatter if he has any hopes of returning to his own world. However, Hatter has his own agenda and things get even more complicated when feelings start to spark between them.

What I think about it: It was not what I thought it was going to be, however, that doesn't mean that it was terrible. I actually enjoyed this story. It seemed like it was lacking in certain areas but it made up for it in others. So while I didn't like the climax (I thought it was a bit underwhelming), I loved the world building and the overall flow of the plot. I also fell in love with the characters, especially Hatter.  I disliked the instalove at the beginning but then it grew on me and I came to love it. 

In Conclusion: I'm giving this a 3.5 stars because of the lag at what was supposed to be the peak of the novel and the insta-love thing at the beginning. 

Friday, 4 September 2015

Friday Reads (150904)

Hello, my dear readers!
                                    It's been so long since my last post. Did you miss me? No? Awww, I missed you guys a lot!
                                    Today, I have my first ever written friday reads log. I was going to do a video today but I didn't get the time. Forgive me.
                                    If you didn't know what Friday Reads is, well, it's a  hashtag over on twitter. I forgot who created it, but if you type Friday Reads into the Youtube search thing and click on any of the videos that come up, I'm sure one of my friends will tell you who created this wonderful thing. Basically, I'm just going to tell you what I'm currently reading and what I plan to read this weekend. That was a really short explanation for all the things that preceded it. Ahh.....
                                    Okay, let's just get on with it!

Right now, I'm reading The School for Good and Evil by Soman Chainani. Here's a picture for you:

Isn't it stunning? I absolutely adore this cover! I'm also really enjoying the story, I'm almost finished with it and I'm hoping to have a review up soon. Look forward to it!
 When I'm done with this one, I'd really like to continue with the series but I'm not sure that I'll have the next book any time soon. So, instead I'm going to read a book I got from Netgalley to review. It's called Mad About The Hatter by Dakota Chase. Here's a shot of the cover for you:

 This cover is just as stunning as , if not more than, The School for Good and Evil. This is an LGBT book and it has something to do with Wonderland. That's really all I know about it but I'm excited to be able to read and review it for you guys. Wait for it, okay?

 So, that's all for now. Please tell me what you are reading and what you're going to read this weekend. I would love to know. Until next time, my lovelies! 
                                                                                                                               -Silver <3

Wednesday, 5 August 2015

Scream (Lakeview #3) - Stacey R. Campbell Review and Giveaway!!

Genre: YA / Mystery

Edition: ebook

No. of Pages: 260

Published On: July 20th 2015

Published By: Green Darner Press

Source: CBB Book Promotions

Series: Lakeview #3

Get this book: Amazon.

Description: Halle Henry's final year at Lakeview Academy turns into a chaotic mess when her boyfriend is expelled after drugs were found in his backpack. Halle is determined to prove his innocence and bring him back to campus. Along the way she has to solve a murder and keep from getting killed. Will she survive to graduate from high school?

What I Think About It: This is my favorite book of the Lakeview series so far. I liked Halle's character, though she annoyed me at times, and I was really happy to know more about what happened to Max and Blakely. The plot was especially enjoyable because the romantic relationship of the characters was not the main focus of the story. There was never a dull moment in this novel and I loved it!

In Conclusion: 4.5 / 5 STARS! I can't wait to read more from this series.

About the Author:

View More:

Stacey R. Campbell lives in the San Juan Islands with her husband and three daughters. She is a graduate of the University of Washington and a dyslexic writer that believes there is no such thing as a bad reader.  She is the author of the young adult novels Hush, Whisper, Silence & Scream and the highly acclaimed middle grade swashbuckling Pirate book ARRGH!

When not at her desk writing she can be found hiking, sailing, or skiing. She enjoys chocolate in any shape or size, too many cups of coffee and laughing (often too loudly as her daughters say) with her friends and family.
 Stacey is available for classroom visits via Skype and loves working with writers and readers of any age; especially those with learning disabilities like her own.

 Learn more about Stacey R. Campbell and her up coming releases by visiting her website at

$20 Amazon Gift Card (INT), set of ebooks of the Lakeview series (INT) and set of paperbacks of the Lakeview series (US)
Ends Aug. 18th
Prizes are provided by the author, hosts are in no way responsible for prizing.

a Rafflecopter giveaway
This event was organized by CBB Book Promotions.

Tuesday, 4 August 2015

Review No. 29: Silence - Stacey R. Campbell

Genre: YA / Novella

Edition: ebook

No. of Pages: 65

Published On: May 5th 2015

Published By: Green Darner Press

Source: CBB Book Promotions

Series: Lakeview # 2.5

Get the book: Amazon.

Description: Blakely Henry, the Queen of Tamura, is on a search for her father. She drags her family
through the South of France on a cross-country adventure.

What I Think About It: Yes! Finally, we get to see more of Blakely after being teased through the second book of the series. Blakely's story captivated me and I was happy to learn more about her family. It was a short, sweet companion to the Lakeview series. I loved it!

In Conclusion: 5 / 5 STARS!!! Wonderful, absolutely brilliant!

Review #28: Whisper - Stacey R. Campbell

Genre: YA / Fantasy > Paranormal

Edition: ebook

No. of Pages: 242

Published On: March 15th 2014

Published By: Green Darner Press

Source: CBB Book Promotions

Series: Lakeview #2

Get this book: Amazon.

Description: This book follows Halle , Blakely's sister, as she begins her first year at Lakeview Academy. Halle discovers the journal of a girl named Elsie who was the daughter of the first headmaster of Lakeview. Unfortunately, Elsie died in an accident over 100 years ago while she was looking for her father on the campus. Elsie had some unfinished business and her soul lingered on in the school. Now, Elsie wants Halle and her friends to help her finish the task she set out to do all those years ago. Will they be able to do it? Or will Elsie haunt them forever?

What I Think About It: It was a good story, but I couldn't shake the feeling that some scenes were unnecessary. Maybe that's just my inner critic talking. I don't really like it when characters are at each others' throats and then suddenly they realise that they were in love with each other all along. I don't enjoy that kind of plot. Also, this story is not a very scary one, so don't expect too much in that department either. It's a shame that I didn't like this book as much as I wanted to.

In Conclusion: 3 / 5 STARS!! Good story but I disliked most of the characters.....